Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Government / Obama issues federal disaster declaration to counties

Obama issues federal disaster declaration to counties

APPLETON, Wis. (AP) – President Obama has signed a federal disaster declaration for parts of Wisconsin struck by severe storms, flooding and mudslides in late June.

The presidential declaration covers eight Wisconsin counties and one tribal reservation for storm damage that occurred from June 20 to 28. The declaration makes federal funds available to state and eligible local governments along with certain nonprofit organizations to reimburse emergency work and to repair or replace property damaged by the storms.

The declaration covers the counties of Ashland, Bayfield, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix and Vernon along with the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa in Bayfield County.

Copyright 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *