Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Government / Democratic leader picks finance committee members

Democratic leader picks finance committee members

MADISON, Wis. (AP) — Wisconsin Senate Democratic Minority Leader Jennifer Shilling has chosen Lena Taylor and Jon Erpenbach to serve on the Legislature’s Joint Finance Committee.

Shilling made the announcement Tuesday. Taylor represents a portion of Milwaukee. Erpenbach’s district includes Middleton and Mount Horeb.

The finance committee’s main task is to revise the governor’s executive budget. Their work on the 2015-17 budget is expected to start this spring.

Twelve members of the majority, including six from the Assembly and six from the Senate, and four members of the minority party, including two from each house, make up the committee.

Republicans control both chambers. Assembly Speaker Robin Vos names his six finance members last week. Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald and Assembly Minority Leader Peter Barca have yet to announce their committee picks.

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *